Clare Havens

'The streets were dark with something more than night…' Raymond Chandler

Bellamy Bird

Set at an English country manor in the halcyon years between the two World Wars, siblings Freddie and Jamie Bellamy must protect the family heirloom, the Bellamy Bird, a fabled jewelled statue that everyone, it seems, wants to get their mitts on. The siblings enlist the help of some mischievous schoolboys and a group of sailing mad children in this exciting and special mixture of vintage adventure and whodunnit.
Fans of PG Wodehouse, Simon Brett, Arthur Ransome and Agatha Christie will enjoy The Bellamy Bird.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Reviews for The Bellamy Bird

Five star ‘I absolutely loved this delightful and fun-filled tale of mystery and intrigue, of time travel and adventure. The wonderful Detective, Francois Renault was reminiscent of the great Hercule Poirot and had me chuckling at his antics and speech. A thoroughly entertaining story designed for children and adults alike. Aussie author Clare Havens has a rare gift, and I look forward to much more from her. Highly recommended to all.’ Brenda

Five star ‘The Bellamy Bird was both a fast-paced mystery with plenty of twists and turns any younger reader would enjoy, and an homage to the the sepia-tinted, classical childhood we left behind–or wish we had experienced! Wonderful characters abound in an old house with plenty of secrets of its own. The book is appropriately meant for ages 7 and up, but if you want a peek back at the good old days, I don’t think it gets any better than this.’ Bella Street author

‘If you are looking for a page turning mystery that keeps you guessing until the end this is the book for you.’ Rebecca James

‘If you’re my age, this book is likely to bring back memories of the days of Swallows and Amazons – so that’s a good reason to read The Bellamy Bird right there! If you’re a quarter of my age, then you’ll just enjoy this book for what it is – a whole lot of fast paced mystery, zany characters, action and fun.’ male

‘This was a magical book that I truly enjoyed! I am planning on reading it to my youngest daughter this fall. Historical fiction and mystery are two of my favorite genres and this book had both and was beautifully written. I look forward to reading more of Clare’s work in the future! If you are at all wondering if you should buy this book, buy it now! You won’t be disappointed.’ Liz

Four star ‘What an excellent mystery for both the young, and young at heart! This story reminded me of the many days I would spend as a youngster, lying, totally absorbed, with my latest mystery book in a nice secluded spot away from any distractions.
I loved this clever story and the steady pace of action and intrigue which maintained continuity throughout. The cast of characters were well developed with unique personalities to easily distinguish them and mark their individual roles within the story.

Reminiscent of the famous Enid Blyton mysteries involving groups of children setting out to solve mysteries. This story takes us on a mystery journey through time…is it a dream, or is it real?…where a group of children band together in teams to help solve a crime mystery that could change the course of history for the better, and help heal the sadness still felt by the grandmother of the two lead children.

This is a fun and exciting book which I have no doubt will be very popular with young readers, who I’m sure will want follow up books from this author!. I will definitely be recommending it!’ Joolz