Clare Havens

'The streets were dark with something more than night…' Raymond Chandler


Ghosts on the River – inspiring photo

I found this photo on Flickr today – it is part of the Samuel J Hood Studio collection at the Australian National Maritime Museum. I love the girls’ smiles – they remind me of two characters from my new novel for middle graders – Ghosts on the River, Freddie and Alex.
The novel is set in the halcyon days between World War I and World War II, at an English country manor house and on the river that runs through it’s grounds.
Fans of ‘Swallows and Amazons’ by Arthur Ransome, ‘Just William’ by Richmal Crompton, Agatha Christie and PG Wodehouse should love this book!
More information on my ‘Ghosts on the River‘ page….

Leave A Comment